Tour of Toowoomba – General Information

The Tour of Toowoomba is a round of the Subaru National Road Series that was held for the first time in 2010 and attracted 15 teams.

A proposal to stage a National Road Series Event in Toowoomba was first presented to the Toowoomba Cycling Club in late 2009 by John Osborne OAM, a “life long cycling enthusiast”. By the time all the formalities and approvals were in place, the club had a 9 week window in which to stage the first event. The highly successful Civil Construction, Building & Development Company FK Gardner & Sons (FKG) signed on to be the Naming Right Sponsors of the Tour of Toowoomba. FKG along with Mark and Heidi Ward of Mc Donald’s Restaurants and IRide Bike Shop all signed up as sponsors through until 2012 and as a result, were the foundation sponsors of the Tour of Toowoomba.

The inaugural FKG Tour of Toowoomba was won by Patrick Shaw riding for the Virgin Blue RBS Morgan team which he then followed up by winning in 2011, as a member of the Genysis-Wealth Advisors team.

Patrick was named as Cycling Australia’s Road Cyclist of the Year in 2010.

Media coverage:

The Toowoomba Chronicle provides extensive coverage of the Tour including daily detailed reports, photographs and results of all sections of each Stage’s competition.

Nightly coverage has formed part of WIN television’s News & Sports on weeknights since the Tour’s inception..

ABC Southern Queensland broadcasts interviews with leading riders, visiting officials and dignitaries on a regular basis. ABC Southern Queensland’s “Breakfast Tour Updates” were first introduced in 2011 and continue to this day.

HOT FM broadcasts daily updates throughout the Tour.



Comments are closed.